Tyler Strickland is a film composer and award-winning music producer based in Los Angeles. From 2005-2010, Tyler traveled the world as a touring multi-instrumentalist in a variety of bands. After deciding to leave the touring life behind, he quickly found his dream path of writing music for film and television.

In 2012, Tyler scored The Genius of Marian which premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival and launched him into a career as a composer with a focus on bringing quality music to documentaries. His scores have since accompanied many of the most successful documentary films in recent years.

From 2015 to 2017 alone, Tyler scored the critically-acclaimed Hot Girls Wanted, executive produced by Rashida Jones, which was acquired by Netflix at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival and received a Primetime Emmy Nomination, Fresh Dressed, the hip-hop fashion film which premiered the same year at Sundance, and Audrie & Daisy, which was acquired by Netflix at Sundance and proceeded to win a Peabody Award in 2016. Tyler also scored The Return, which won the Audience Award at the Tribeca in 2016 and was nominated for a 2017 News & Journalism Emmy, the festival-sweeping Jackson for Showtime in 2016, and The Mars Generation, a Netflix documentary starring Bill Nye and Neil DeGrasse Tyson which was the opening night film at Sundance in 2017. Other recent breakout films that are accompanied by Tyler’s music include Plastic China (Sundance 2017 and Golden Horse Winner)A River Below (Tribeca 2017),  and Mankiller which was produced by Valhalla Entertainment (The Walking Dead).

Tyler is already recognized as one of the busiest film composers in the documentary industry as a result of his frequent collaborations with renowned Academy-Award-winning directors and producers: Ross Kauffman, Laura Poitras, Gale Anne Hurd, and others. He has also composed for films from Emmy-Award winners: Morgan Spurlock, Michael Barnett, Tony Gerber, and many others.

Tyler still continues to produce and create albums as a songwriter between film scores, and recently won a GMA Dove Award in 2016 for producing Jon Foreman’s Best Rock Album of The Year“The Wonderlands: Sunlight & Shadows”.